Dolores County elects new commissioners

Friday, Nov. 11, 2016 12:30 AM
Sam Green/Cortez Journal

Darrin McCarty presents a check to the Dove Creek Volunteer Ambulance Service in 2015. Air Products has committed $90,000 towards a $180,000 new ambulance for Dove Creek. Accepting the token check are Angela Meyers and Joyce Barnett. Dolores County passed a 2.5 mill levy in the Nov. 8 election to support the ambulance district.

Dolores County elected two new commissioners, opted out of SB152, retained the county judge, and passed an ambulance district mill levy.

Republican Steve Garchar won the District 2 commissioner seat, beating out incumbent Democrat Ernie Williams by a vote of 842 to 365.

Republican Floyd Cook won the District 3 commissioner seat with 690 votes. Larry White (Dem) garnered 312 votes, and Edward Hodson (UAF) had 180 votes. Cook replaces Doug Stowe, who didn’t seek re-election.

Voters approved a 2.5 mill levy to support the county ambulance district, voting 612 to 567. Revenues from the property tax are not to exceed $319,289 a year and will provide ambulance service and cover operations and administrative costs.

Voters exempted the ambulance district from the Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights, 645 to 509.

The county voted 900 to 256 to opt out of SB152, which prohibits governments from funding and or managing telecommunication services and infrastructure.

County court Judge Dale Boyd was retained, 851 to 270.